Tongue Tie Release at 13 months

In all my life I never went to hospital except to give birth but since having kids I swear it’s becoming a regular occurrence! We’ve been to A+E four times with Sophia (bumped head, drank guitar cleaner, broke finger, possible concussion), one of which resulted in minor day surgery (the finger!) and had an ambulance called for Isaac after the out of hours doctor was concerned by a very high temperature and slight issues with breathing (he didn’t have to go in and was fine).

But today as I type I’m sat waiting to be called to recovery as Isaac is having a tongue tie release which has to be done under general anaesthetic due to his age. I know he’ll be fine but I can’t help feeling nervous and having…
**later**
…I got called to recovery in the middle of typing! I was feeling nervous as holding your child whilst someone uses gas to put them to sleep is pretty unpleasant. I got a bit teary but am told this is normal!

Anyway, he was fine, it all went well and he seems delighted with the new movement of his tongue, has been waggling it all over the place. In fact, the worst bit was the fast before-he was fitful and crying from 2am until 7am as he wasn’t allowed breast milk-not fun!!

I’d like to say I have some deeper insight in relation to this morning but unfortunately I don’t, I was just blogging to relieve anxiety. The only comment I really have is that I wish it had been caught sooner.

I’m a breastfeeding peer supporter so feel quite embarrassed that I didn’t realise until he was 9 months old but really I think I was too proud and dismissive of the problems we did have.

I had an attitude of ‘there’s no normal feeding pattern’ and ‘every baby is different’ and whilst that may be true to a certain extent, I definitely should have had a slice of humble pie and gone to see someone much earlier when he continued his excessively frequent feeds, slipping off the breast, dissatisfied crying in the evenings and refusal of my inverted side.

So my only take home advice is that if you have even an inkling that there may be something not quite right or if feeding isn’t comfortable for you or your baby, even if it’s your 7th baby, suck it up and go find some support!!

I found this article just the kick I needed to go and see a doctor about it (his weight gain was so good I didn’t think it could be tongue tie at first) so would recommend reading it if at all concerned.

The look on his face when he had some food afterwards and realised he could manipulate it in his mouth in a way he never could before was just priceless, what a smile!

And just a quick aside to end, staff at the Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital (Brighton) were amazing, as always. Props to them and thanks!

20130215-150403.jpg
Exploring before his trip to theatre

20130215-150445.jpg
Sleeping soundly afterwards

4 thoughts on “Tongue Tie Release at 13 months

  1. Aww, what a sweetie! I’m sorry for your mama-worries 😦 and realizing that it could have been fixed earlier. You sound like a lovely mama! I’m glad it went well and he is enjoying a newfound way of eating. πŸ˜€

  2. Just realised I never replied to this, sorry Valerie! Thank you for your kind words.

    He is now making the most of his new tongue movement though it did take him a good 2/3 weeks to actually stick it out!

  3. hi, thanks for the nice sharing. my boy, same 13-month who just had the clipping operations as well. However, I found that he still not willing to pull out from the mouth after 1 week. I tried to give him the ice-cream but still not good. I am quite worried. May I know if you had the same situation?

    • Sorry I didn’t reply sooner. We didn’t have that problem although it took him a while to stick it out, I’m assuming because it was sore.

      If you have any concerns though, go to your doctor please πŸ™‚ All the best!

Leave a Reply

