Green fingered musings

My thoughts have been turning to our garden a lot this last week, perhaps because usually in March I should have been able to do a lot more than I have. The weather has been very wet and very cold, not at all conducive to gardening with 2 little people in tow and to sowing seeds that would usually fare well at this time of year but not when it’s this cold!

Sophia and I sowed some carrot seeds a few weeks ago…they’ve yet to appear as shoots but I’m hoping they are just taking their time.

We also sowed some tomato and basil seeds which are on our windowsill soaking up what little sun they can. So imagine my delight to spot half a dozen of the tomato’s appearing this week!

20130326-221022.jpg

I’ve taken a risk and bought some seeds on eBay so I shall report on how they do later in the year; I bought some strawberry seeds, (our windowsill space is limited so we haven’t sown them yet, but given how cold it is I think we’ll be ok doing them a bit late), and some sunflower seeds which I hope to plant with Sophia and Seren when Jo et al come to visit this weekend.

The brief snatches of time I have managed to grab in the garden have been spent preparing a bed for the sunflower’s and some other flowers my Ma gave me. Most of what we will grow will be for eating so I thought it’d be nice to have a proper flower bed.

I wish I’d taken pictures of the area before as it was a mess of brambles and various prolific bamboo-esque wild plants, some of the stems of the brambles were a good few inches thick and previous tenants had hacked away but not dug out the roots so it was a mass of dead and live plants. I spent a long time cutting back, digging out roots and thoroughly weeding and turning over the area. I finished by laying the edge with rocks and now it’s ready for the seeds. I got incredibly scratched and muddy in the process and I now have 3 bins full of bramble cuttings that I’m worried about composting (will they take root in compost? Anyone know?) but am pretty happy with the end result.

20130326-221950.jpg

20130326-221940.jpg

It doesn’t look much but it represents a lot of hard work and hopefully will be beautiful once the flowers have grown!

On the flower front, there is a big rose bush in the garden that I’m hoping will bounce back when spring finally arrives as it doesn’t look well and a friend gifted us a mini rose plant when we moved in. The label said they were hardy outdoors in winter so I planted it into a big pot outside but it’s looking a bit sorry for itself with all this cold so am praying it survives!

Some areas of the lawn need reseeding and the rest of the beds need weeding and preparing for more veg so we still have a lot to do but I’m looking forward to the time ahead of us that we’ll hopefully spend out there. Being on the allotment last year was definitely a good experience in gardening in that now even my large and slightly neglected garden seems manageable and easy in comparison to our plot on a chalky steep exposed hillside!

And finally, thinking outside the garden…whilst on our way to forest school today and walking down some country lanes, I realised how good Devon must be for foraging so I’m going to dig out my foraging book and get reading so Sophia and I can hopefully discover some tasty weeds and wild plants!

And even if we can’t find much to eat, it sure is easy on the eye….

20130326-222813.jpg

Leave a Reply

