The Good Life

My sister stayed with us for a few nights and was teasing me about my aspirations and dreams being akin to the lifestyle pictured in ‘The Good Life’ so I thought that was an appropriate title for this post!

I feel like we’ve been here forever and although I really miss our Brighton friends, I bloody love living in Devon (excuse my language)! We’ve settled in and have found a rhythm to our week; library and pizza day, forest school day, home ed meets and dancing day. Lovely stuff! The rest of our time is spent meeting friends or pottering in our garden which is coming along nicely, I’m so happy with it!

We’ve planted carrots, garlic, onion, squash, sunflowers, tomato’s, salad and got potatoes chitting inside and strawberries on the windowsill in a propagator. Things are sprouting and Sophia and I are equally delighted with watching the process.  We also have an abundance of comfrey in the garden so are making some plant food to feed to all our seedlings which feels quite satisfying.

Next on the list is to prepare the potato bed and I’ve promised Sophia that we can make some ‘cakes’ to put in the bird feeders…in fact, typing this has reminded me that I need to buy some lard and seeds!

I know I’m rambling on about the garden but we’ve spent so much time out there in the last few weeks, I almost feel that it has proven more beneficial for the kids than the extra space gained by living in a house and not on a boat (I hope that makes sense, I know what I mean!) Both of them really thrive outside in a way they don’t when they are confined by walls. Isaac, in particular, just loves being outdoors. Each morning, he finds his wellies and toddles over to me or Dan with them with an expectant ‘da?’, desperate to get out! He’s still fairly obsessed with ‘exploring’ with his mouth but will at least now spit it out when requested!

We’re still exploring the area slowly, with a trip to Exmouth and it’s lovely sandy beach on Sunday and hope to replace our (now sold) van soon with a small run-a-round so that we can explore the area more fully – it seems that there are lots of awesome places we could go to that are 20-30 mins drive away but would take hours on public transport which is slightly frustrating!

Ideally, we’d like to buy a house rather than continue renting in Devon in the next few years but have a fairly specific idea (and therefore, harder to obtain!) of what we’d like; something rural or at least detached, on a decent sized plot so we could hopefully turn it off grid in terms of water and electricity, hopefully have some trees to provide firewood, grow a significant proportion of our fruit and veg and possibly keep some chickens and maybe a pig or goat further down the line. This is all very idealistic, I’m well aware of that, but I think it’s good to have dreams and who knows, we might be one of the few that actually realises them! It was these musings that led to the comparison of ‘The Good Life’ from my sister!

But I’m rambling now! I just wanted to check in, even though we don’t have much to report, to say we are well and plodding along, stopping to smell the flowers and fully enjoying life right now.

Leave a Reply

