Seasons Greetings

I meant to write a post on Christmas Eve or Boxing Day but as it turned out, I was having such a lovely and full time with my family that the right opportunity just didn’t materialise.

2013-12-07 16.35.28

So a bit of a belated Merry Christmas to anyone that might be reading this. I hope you’ve all been having a great time over the holidays. I wrote in a post earlier this month that this was our first Christmas just the four of us and my, what a lovely Christmas it was. Peaceful, fun and purposeful in remembering what we were celebrating. Sophia and Isaac were just brimming with excitement from the morning of Christmas Eve and it didn’t dissipate until the moment they collapsed exhausted and happy into their beds on Boxing Day night. Having said that, I was pleasantly surprised that they weren’t overexcited. We took things at our own pace, went to Church, popped to the pub with some friends for a Christmas drink then pottered home and Isaac had a nap whilst I cooked a hefty chunk of turkey and Dan and Sophia played with some of her presents. We had a delicious meal (if I do say so myself!) before slowly getting the kids to bed and then I coerced Dan into watching Christmas Dr Who with me – it had to be done!

Anyway, I’m not going off on one today (I promise!) so will bid you adieu and leave you with a few pictures from our day. (An aside is that I realised I didn’t get any photos of stocking/present opening which made me a bit sad but Dan surmised that it was good evidence that we’d been enjoying ourselves too much and I’m going with that, I guess it’s better to be in the moment than always recording it – I did remember the obligatory cheesy pose with stockings the night before though!)

2013-12-24 20.13.51

2013-12-24 20.14.09

20131225_122616

20131225_082224

20131225_151356

Leave a comment