Pregnancy Diary: 12 weeks

So I guess this is my blog announcement! I’ve copied the lovely Sarah from Caterpillar Tales in deciding to try and blog the pregnancy.

I am 12 weeks and 5 days pregnant and had my dating scan yesterday.  Apparently due 12th February, we shall see! Both Sophia and Isaac were born at 39 weeks and 5 days gestation so I’m intrigued to see if that was just coincidence or if my baby baking timer is very exact!

image

I have struggled with the first trimester. I know that I am unbelievably blessed to a) not have been that sick and b) to have actually got this far but the exhaustion and nausea has hit me hard. The kids have both been very understanding and Dan has been a star at picking up my slack and being patient with my whinging and constant tears (I’m a cryer anyway but add extra hormones and an episode of Melody has me weeping these days)!

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it but since Christmas I’ve been regularly lifting weights and doing more cardio and eating clean. I’ve felt much better than I have in years and was determined to keep it up during pregnancy and remain healthy.

Unfortunately tiredness means where I was working out 5/6 times a week, now it’s more like 3/4 and I’m lifting half the weight I was pre pregnancy but the days I make myself do it, I feel tons better and less tired. A friend of mine who is a mother of 2 and personal trainer told me that a lot of female athletes achieve personal bests during their second trimester so I’m looking forward to hopefully working a bit harder soon.

According to the scan, baby is currently 6.2cm (crown-rump) which is tiny! Baby centre reckons 5.4cm but I guess I’m nearer 13 weeks now. Apparently baby can close it’s fingers, curl toes and clench eye muscles by now…pretty cool!

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Diary: 12 weeks

Leave a Reply

