Home Education: it starts here!

It suddenly hit me this week that if we were taking the school route, Sophia would be starting next week.  I felt a bit emotional,  my little girl all grown up. A bit silly really given that she’s not going anywhere. But it feels like a milestone nonetheless.

I’ve spent all summer knowing that I should make a plan for September but avoiding it. I’m still an advocate for play based and informal learning in the early primary years but Sophia craves more than that. She loves sitting down and ‘doing lessons’ with me so I knew I should really formulate some kind of plan for us to follow rather than floundering each day when she asks me what we’re doing.

Today I had a light bulb moment. I looked at the Wee Folk Art Homeschool Companion Guides a year or so ago but had pretty much forgotten about them or dismissed them for one reason or another. Today I took another look, showed them to Dan and made a decision to have a go at following them, starting with the first unit ‘Harvest Time’. I’m planning on starting the week beginning 15th September (thought I’d put a date in here so I have to stick to it)!

I think they should suit us perfectly, a gentle approach and a good mix of science, literature, narration, writing and what they call ‘social studies’ (it’s an American programme). It doesn’t cover maths but I’ve found a free Maths curriculum from the Centre for Innovation in Mathematics from the University of Plymouth that looks pretty good which I think we’ll use to cover Maths.

I’ve finally got a printer (just needs ink!) so think we’re pretty much ready to start. The Wee Folk Art guides have a book list which I need to source but I’m hoping I can get them second hand or borrow from the library as it’s quite an extensive list! I feel quite excited but also a bit nervous. Mostly I’m just determined to stay on track and actually try and keep up with the plan.

People often say I’m ‘brave’ when they find out that Sophia and Isaac won’t be going to school and up until now, I haven’t really agreed. But right now, I definitely feel like I’m taking a big step; I’m putting myself (and Dan) chiefly responsible for their education and that is at once, both terrifying and empowering. Of course, I would like to think that I’m humble enough to admit defeat if it turns out that I can’t meet all their needs and if school would be the better option, but I’m excited to jump in with both feet and give home educating the best shot I can. And Sophia is excited too; excited about her home education groups starting again, about the prospect of a new forest school, about doing regular lessons with me. And I think us both being on the same page right now is a good start to the coming year.

Leave a Reply

