Pregnancy Diary: 22 weeks

Today I am 22 weeks and 4 days pregnant.

image

image

Baby is apparently 28cm long (ish!) and tooth buds are starting to form in the gum.

He or she is definitely making their presence known these days, the movements are more regular and getting stronger and I feel like I’ve lost all the space between my blossoming belly and chest. Isaac and Sophia have spontaneously been kissing and talking to the bump and we’ve started reading Hello Baby and I am loving their interest in their sibling-to-be.

I have to admit I’ve been worrying this week a bit about how I’m going to meet all their needs come February, especially on the days and nights when Dan has to work away from home. The idea of having a 5 year old, 3 year old and newborn is simultaneously terrifying and exciting! I know there will be a lot of benefits to having them close together but I’m also being realistic about a potentially tough period for a few months next year. Especially in the light of home educating Sophia. She is so eager to always be doing work which is great but could potentially be a bit problematic with a tiny. I’m trying to remember to build some intentional quiet time into each day and also provide time and opportunities for them to play without guidance, input or refereeing from me! Right now, they are playing with play dough together and have been happily for 30 minutes or so so I’ll chalk that up as a win!

All in all though, I’m starting to get very excited about meeting Baby D, version 3. I think once we’ve moved it’ll be February before we know it so I’m trying to not wish away time and enjoy each day as it comes.

Leave a Reply

