Pregnancy Diary: 34 weeks

Today I am 34 weeks and 2 days pregnant.
image
image

Baby is apparently roughly 45cm long and approximately 4lb 13oz so fast running out of space! 99% of babies born at this gestation and beyond have no long term health problems and usually few immediate ones. Although obviously hopefully he or she will stay put for a few more weeks this feels like a good milestone to have reached. I’ve been having a lot more braxton hicks than with the last two as well which makes me wonder if maybe they’ll be slightly earlier than the other two who were both 39 weeks and 5 days when they arrived skin side.

My SPD has been much worse the last few weeks so I went to see the physio yesterday who gave me a big stretchy band to wear and gave me strict instructions not to over do it and to get lots of rest. For those that know me in real life, you’ll know that I am particularly bad at sitting down, leaving chores until later and accepting help. I don’t have much choice though as just spending an hour or so earlier today helping Dan in the garage and doing some gardening with the kids has resulted in a fair bit of pain and me feeling absolutely exhausted so I’m under a blanket on the sofa writing this whilst the kids play with playdough next door!

I think the extreme fatigue isn’t helped by Isaac who is waking 1-3 times a night and not being particularly able to get back to sleep easily each time. I’m really hoping he starts sleeping through before the bubba arrives but there’s not much you can do to physically prevent a (nearly) 3 year old from waking so to a certain extent we just have to suck it up and get on with it!

I realise this post is coming across as quite negative and my apologies. On a positive note, I’ve got the reusable nappies sorted, got some clothes out, got a car seat, bouncy chair and our slings sorted and borrowing a co sleeping cot from a friend this week hopefully so feeling quite excited and not so ill prepared as I was last week!

I’m also starting to think about the birth a bit more now. I’ve now decided for practical reasons not to hire a pool and feel peaceful having done so, I can stop agonising over it now! I figure I’ve got the bath and shower if I need water at any point. My good friend Fab is going to have the kids if I labour in the day (Sophia has decided she’d rather go with her than be at the birth) but I kinda hope/think I’ll labour at night, seems like it would be easier/calmer! I got given Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin for Christmas and am enjoying reading that to get my head in the right space. I especially like her describing contractions (or surges/rushes) as ‘an interesting sensation that requires all my attention’! Am feeling cautiously ready and looking forward to meeting this baby, whenever they might arrive!

Leave a Reply

