Pregnancy Diary: 37 weeks

Today I am 37 weeks and 4 days pregnant.

image

image

Baby is approximately 48cm long and could have hair that is 3.5cm long-madness! I don’t pay any attention to the old wives tale about acid reflux being a sign that your baby will be born with hair as I’ve had it increasingly badly with each pregnancy and Sophia had a head of dark hair but Isaac was completely bald (and remained that way until 18 months bless him) so am curious to see with this one! Baby is now officially term so I could go into labour at any point in the next 4 and a half weeks.

I’m not going to lie, I hope it’s sooner rather than later! My lovely midwife came on Thursday and said baby is 3/5 engaged which is very exciting but accounts for the worsening of my SPD. I am now very limited in my ability to walk much further than to the car or local park which is inconvenient so I’m hoping baby D number 3 arrives soon! Luckily, I am blessed with amazing friends and family who have been more than pulling their weight with helping me with the kids so it’s all good!

I’ve also had increasingly frequent braxton hicks contractions which bodes well, I keep reminding myself that even these ‘practice’ contractions have a job in helping to soften and prepare the cervix. It is all a step in the right direction towards meeting little one skinside. I have my midwife’s on call schedule and although I know you can’t choose when you give me, I believe there’s a certain psychological element to it so am hoping I can coincide with one of her shifts as we really get on and I would love for her to be there.

I must apologise for the quietness of my blog in non pregnancy related posts, I am aware these aren’t everyone’s cup of tea so I will ponder other topics anon. There have been murmurings of proposed legislation to monitor and possibly restrict home education in the home ed world so I’ve been trying to read about that, how much truth there is in them and what we can do and how concerned we should be. Once I’ve gathered my thoughts on it, I’m sure you’ll hear all about it from me here. But until then, I hope this finds you all well and enjoying this gorgeous sunny Monday!

Leave a Reply

