Pregnancy Diary: 38 weeks

Today I am 38 weeks and 5 days pregnant.
image

image

Baby is apparently between 6.6 and 7lb by now (although this is obviously a very generic average as both Sophia and Isaac at 39 weeks and 5 days were over 8 and a half pounds and I find it hard to believe they could put on 2 pounds in just a week!) and his or her organ systems are fully developed and ready to go!

I’m not going to lie, I was hoping not to write this post. I was hoping my next post in this series would be announcing the birth. I know that bubba will arrive when he or she is ready and that I can’t rush things and should be savouring the last few days and weeks(? I hope not!) of pregnancy but I’m just getting so tired and uncomfortable that it is hard to. My right leg keeps going into painful spasms where it joins my hip and I have been incredibly breathless and tired. I just want to meet little one and to be able to walk freely around the house and town again without having to have ridiculously frequent breaks to sit down!

I do apologise for the negativity but I figure this should be a honest account of the pregnancy. I’m actually not really down in the dumps though, I feel really happy and positive at the moment. After a spate of post Christmas intense bickering, the kids have been getting on really well the last week or so which makes life feel a lot easier and more chilled out. We’ve been doing a good amount of structured learning to satisfy Sophia and making the most of hibernating through the cold by curling up under a blanket and reading copious amounts of books which leaves all three of us content and relaxed. I think I’d definitely rather be heavily pregnant in the winter than the summer when we would all want to be out enjoying sun, sea and sand rather than being home bodies.

So despite the impatience and uncomfortableness, the good vibes are winning out (hurray!) I’m excited about the birth but finding peace with not knowing when it’ll happen. So, maybe I’ll be back next week with another update and maybe I won’t but either way, that’s ok.

Until then, stay warm and happy!

Leave a Reply

