Choices

I read this post the other day which I found really helpful and encouraging. The author talks about how rather than trying to balance or juggle more than we can healthily fit in, we should make choices about what we can take on and incorporate into our life without putting too much pressure on ourselves or negatively imposing on our family life and relationships. And sometimes this will mean closing a door on some new venture (perhaps just temporarily) even if it is something we really want to do, could bring in some much needed extra cash or is something we know we’ll be really good at. At least that’s what I took from it anyway!

Consequently, I’ve been thinking about what I’m doing at the moment and assessing whether it is too much and if I’m stretching myself too thin. I’ve come to the conclusion that what I’ve got going on at the moment is manageable as long as my time management is spot on and I don’t take on anymore. Back in August I took on some work doing social media management for a friend and now have 3 clients which is great! I’m really enjoying the work and it’s nice to have a bit extra cash coming in as well. I was reassessing as my name has been passed on to someone else who might be interested in my services and I was pondering whether I’d want to take on another client or not. 3 clients isn’t loads in the grand scheme of things but put into context with home educating, a very active baby who’s entered the phase of separation anxiety, trying to fit in regular workouts, general housework, feeding everyone and writing, I’m wary of taking on too much.

Knowing when to say no is definitely something I’m still working on. But I think it is so important to know when to say yes and when to politely decline for the sake of your mental and physical well being (and those of the people around you!) I think this can apply to other areas of life as well. So this advent, I may not have prepared 24 meaningful and creative activities for us to do every day but that’s ok. I’ve realised that it’s alright to cut myself some slack. When the kids are older and more self sufficient, I suspect we’ll have more time for advent crafts and acts of well being to others but now, whilst the baby is crawling the stairs at every opportunity or trying to topple the Christmas tree, it’s not a problem that our festive activities have been a bit more low key and just spontaneously grabbed when he naps unexpectedly!

I’ve also been feeling guilty that I haven’t been doing more on this blog regularly other than just posting my weekly Express and Echo column. I didn’t even mark Sophia’s 6th birthday here. I had the best intentions but it just completely slipped by the wayside. I might try and do one after Christmas but it seems a bit redundant doing it late. We’ll see. However, in the spirit of not overloading my plate, I have decided to stop feeling bad. Lack of content doesn’t affect anyone but me so I’m going to relax and just post when I can, even if that is only once every 3 months at the moment!

So my advice this Christmas is to make smart choices about what you take on. Don’t make your life a juggling act, keeping all those balls in the air gets tiring after a while. Choose what you need to do, what you want to do, what is best for you and your family and don’t be afraid to say no. And I hope that you can do this and have a most relaxing, joyful and wonderful Christmas.

image

Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

